课程

阅读,数学和科学是成就学生的基础。但为了在全球经济环境的竞争中赢得胜利,如今的学生或称未来的领导者,都需要掌握另一套知识和技能。 这些21世纪的技能中,包括协作和沟通,以及分析和解决问题的能力。 他们需要依靠批判性思维,来创作能够解决崭新问题的方案。每个孩子都有机会掌握这项技能,而学校在实行此目标扮演着重要的角色。

迈克尔·戴尔,戴尔公司董事会主席兼首席执行官
ScholarShift
ScholarShift是嘉德圣玛丽学校,针对年龄较大的学生(10年级以上)开发独有的学习的模式。在开发此课程的同时,我们希望提前为学生在进入需发挥独立性和自我导向学习的学院生涯前,做好万全准备,并且协助他们掌握未来不可或缺的 “二十一世纪技能” 。

除了严格的学术核心课程之外,森林城市嘉德圣玛丽学校的高中生,将有机会在现实环境中应用他们所学习的知识,其中包括实习、在weCreate创新空间自创项目、开发新技能,或向相关的导师探讨更深入的学习。

ScholarShift开始于10年级,学生可在“混合式学习”模式中学习英语(其他班级已经加速进入11年级)。学生将按照常规的日程安排,参加数学、科学、社会研究和现代语言课程。在混合课上,学生将于周二和周四正常上课,惟周一,周三和周五,虽然课程已安排好,但只需在必要时与老师会面。另外,学生们也可以在老师或顾问的密切监督下,通过视频讲座或网络教学促进独立学习。他们也可能会利用上课时间,接触其他学术活动,如组件模块的学习体验。组件模块让学术有机会发挥他们的创造力、创新能力、协作技巧和设计技能,同时可以兼顾所有科目严格的学习标准。


在11年级,学生将使用混合式学习来完成所有课程,并组件一系列模块,创建一个电子学习档案。 这些模块属于“自我了解”,“学习新技能”,“weCreate”和“课外学习”的领域。 这些模块的目标是扩大学生的知识面,将他们的核心学习应用于新的环境中,并为他们的12年级课程做好准备。除了在常规学习目标上进行教学和测试之外,学生还将培养独立性、时间管理、协作、责任和演讲技巧。 这些都是往后上大学或踏入社会,所需的技能关键。 即使学术课程成绩表现优异,学生仍会受到适当的监督,校方会在必要时给予额外指导,以确保日后的成就。

在12年级,学生将利用他们的混合时间,来设计和完成一个独立的项目。 我们Faribault校园过去与weCreate的架构导师合作,在工作室内实现设计和3D打印学习、工程师实习,急视频编辑学习。通过顾问的指导,反思和综合,学生将更好地为大学生涯的责任感和独立性做好准备,并有机会深入探索他们热爱的领域。

ScholarShift能够促进更深入的学习,与进行长时间的工作项,并开发学生的“软技能”,包括独立学习、协作、规划、组织、灵活性、适应性、创造力和解决问题能力等,并且不偏离我们严格要求的核心学术标准。
 
 
 

有问题吗? 我们可以帮忙!

ScholarShift

Reading, math and science are the foundations of student achievement. But to compete and win in the global economy, today’s students and tomorrow’s leaders need another set of knowledge and skills. These 21st century skills include the ability to collaborate and communicate and analyze and address problems. And they need to rely on critical thinking and problem solving to create innovative solutions to the issues facing our world. Every child should have the opportunity to acquire and master these skills and our schools play a vital role in making this happen.”

MICHAEL DELL, CEO, Dell Computers, Inc.
ScholarShift
ScholarShift is an approach to learning for older students that is unique to Shattuck-St.Mary’s Schools. In developing this program, we wanted to prepare our students for their transition into the independence and self-directed learning that happen in college, and to develop in our students the “twenty-first century skills” they will use in college and beyond.

In addition to our rigorous academic core program, SSM-FC High School students will apply their learning in highly relevant, real world contexts that can include internships, self-designed projects in our weCreate space, the development of new skills or deeper learning in an area with a teacher mentor.

ScholarShift begins in grade 10 with students taking English (and any other classes where they have been accelerated into a grade 11 class) in a “blended learning” model.  Students will attend their Math, Science, Social Studies and Modern Languages following a traditional schedule that meets every day. In a blended class, the student will attend regular classes on Tuesday and Thursday, but on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, though class is scheduled, they will only meet with their teacher on an as needed basis. Instead, students will study learning targets independently through video based lectures or other activities given to them online by their teacher, but under the close supervision and support of their teachers and advisor. While class will be scheduled and students can meet with their teacher if needed, they may also spend some of their class time engaged in other academic pursuits through the completion of short project-based learning experiences called modules. Modules give students the opportunity to develop their creativity, innovation, collaboration skills and design skills while still being held accountable for meeting our rigorous learning standards in all subjects. 


In grade 11, students study all of their courses using the blended model, and will complete a series of modules that creates an ePortfolio of their learning. Modules fall under the realms of “learning about myself”, “learning a new skill”, “weCreate”, and “learning about outside the arch”. The goals of the modules are to broaden students’ knowledge, to apply their core learning in new contexts, and to develop their readiness for their grade 12 project. In addition to being taught and tested on their regular learning targets, students will also develop independence, time management, collaboration, responsibility, and presentation skills.  All critical skills for study in university and the the workplace of the future. Students success in their academic subjects will still be carefully monitored and students will be given additional instruction where necessary to ensure their success.

In grade 12, students will use their blended time to design and complete an independent project. Past projects at our Faribault campus have included working with an architect mentor in our weCreate architecture, studio learning about design and 3D printing, interning as engineers or studying video editing. Through mentorship by an advisor, reflection and synthesis, students will be better prepared for the responsibility and independence of college and have the opportunity to explore deeply in an area they are passionate about.

ScholarShift allows for deeper learning and work on a long-term project and develops powerful “soft skills” such as independent learning, collaboration, planning, organization, flexibility, adaptability, creativity and problem solving while still being supported and held accountable to meet our rigorous core academic standards.
 
 
 

Questions? We can help!